English Program Faculty


The HPU English department has ten full-time faculty members, and several adjunct (part-time) faculty.


Full-Time Faculty 2016-2017

Dr. Kathy Cassity

Cassity, Kathleen
Associate Professor of English and Asst. Dean College of Liberal Arts (2016-2017)
Ph.D., University of Hawai'i
MP 201-G, Tel: 356-5235, kcassity@hpu.edu

Dr. Cassity's scholarly interests include writing pedagogy, creative nonfiction, 20th-century British literature, and postcolonial literature, especially of South Asia. She has published in Journal of Teaching Writing, Writing on the Edge, Expanded Perspectives on Learning, and other journals, as well as chapters in several book collections. She is currently the Assistant Dean of the College of Liberal Arts.

Ms. Angela Gili

Gili, Angela
Instructor of English and Writing Lab Coordinator
Ph.D., University of Hawai'i
MP 201-B, Tel: 544-0297, agili@hpu.edu

Dr. Gili recently completed her doctoral dissertation at the University of Hawai'i. Her research focuses on postcolonial theory, contemporary detective fiction, and South African literature. She teaches the composition studies course and coordinates the peer tutors and the writing labs.

Dr. Laurie Leach

Leach, Laurie
Professor of English and Department Chair (2016-2017)
Ph.D., Louisiana State University
MP 201-E, Tel: 544-1103, lleach@hpu.edu

Dr. Leach's scholarly interests include American literature, ethnic literature, and the literature of slavery. Her articles have appeared in journals such as Biography, South Central Review, Studies in Literary History and LIT: Literature, Interpretation, Theory. She has published a biography of Langston Hughes.  She is currently serving as department chair

Mr. Tyler McMahon

McMahon, Tyler
Associate Professor of English
M.F.A., Creative Writing, Boise State University, 2007
LB 507, Tel: 544-1107, tmcmahon@hpu.edu

Tyler McMahon is the author of the novels Kilometer 99 (2014) and How the Mistakes Were Made (2011). Kilometer 99 recently won the 2015 Maria Thomas Fiction Award, given for a novel about the Peace Corps experience. His short fiction and essays have appeared in Three Penny Review, Antioch Review, The Rumpus, The Nervous Breakdown, and elsewhere.   He is also the advisor and instructor for Wanderlust and the editor of Hawaii Pacific Review. More info at www.tylermcmahon.net

Ms. Adele Ne Jame

Ne Jame, Adele
Assistant Professor of English
M.A., University of Hawai'i
MP 201-E, Tel: 566-2413, anejame@hpu.edu

Adele Ne Jame recently received the prestigious Cades Award for Literature (2015). Author of the books Field Work, Land and Spirit, and The South Wind, Ms. NeJame has also received the Pablo Neruda Prize, a fellowship from the NEA, and prizes from the American Academy of Poets. Her poems have appeared in such journals as Poetry Kanto, American Nature Writing, The Denver Quarterly, Manoa, Ploughshares, and The Hawaii Pacific Review

Mr. Steve Robinson

Robinson, Steve
Instructor of English
MFA, California State University Consortium
LB Mezz 3, Tel: 356-5240, srobinson@hpu.edu

Mr. Robinson specializes in composition and rhetoric and is currently working on a chapbook of poems. He has taught all levels of writing at HPU as well as the student literature magazine, Wanderlust.

Ross

Ross, Deborah
Professor of English
Ph.D.,  English, University of Rochester
MP 201-F, Tel: 544-0297 dross@hpu.edu

Dr. Ross’s scholarship primarily concerns gender issues in both literary and pop culture narratives, especially Disney and Miyazaki. She has also published creative work in CT Review, Hawai‘i Pacific Review, and several on-line magazines.

Soong

Soong, Micheline
Associate Professor of English
Ph.D. UCLA
MP 201-F, Tel: 544-0809, msoong@hpu.edu

Dr. Soong’s research interests include local literature of Hawai‘i, Asian-America literature, classical and modern Japanese and Chinese literatures, identity politics, and feminist theory.

Dr. Mark Tjarks

Tjarks, Mark
Professor of English  and Department Chair elect
Ph.D. University of Hawai'i
MP 201-D, Tel: 566-2445, mtjarks@hpu.edu

Dr. Tjarks’ research interests include creative writing, particularly scriptwriting, film, narrative theory, and modern drama. He is an award-winning playwright whose plays have been performed throughout the Hawaiian Islands and in Los Angeles and Houston. He received the Po'okela Award in 2014.

Williams

Williams, Christy
Assistant Professor of English
Ph.D., University of Hawaii
MP 201-C, Tel: 687-7029, cwilliams@hpu.edu

Dr. Williams specializes in fairy-tale studies and gender and narrative theory; she writes primarily about fairy tales in on 20th and 21st century American literature and popular culture. Her articles have appeared in The Comparatist, Marvels & Tales, and the collection Fairy Tale Film and Cinematic Folklore. She is co-editor of the book Beyond Adaptation: Essays on Radical Transformations of Original Works (2010).

Wood

Wood, Houston
Professor of English
Ph.D. University of Hawai'i
LB Mezz 4, Tel: 356-5240, hwood@hpu.edu

Dr. Wood's textbook, Invitation to Peace Studies, was published in 2015. A companion anthology, Current Debates in Peace and Conflict Studies, appeared in 2016. Wood is also the author of The Reality of Ethnomethodology, Displacing Natives: The Rhetorical Production of Hawai'i, and Native Features: Indigenous Films from Around the World. After many years in the English department where he taught Film Studies and the Shakespeare seminar, he has recently been teaching sociology for the College of Extended and Interdisciplinary Education.

 

 

Adjunct Faculty  Spring 2017

tariav@hpu.edu

Ariav, Tali

WRI 1100, WRI 1200

darudou@hpu.edu

Beamer, Debito

WRI 1200

jbibeau@hpu.edu

Bibeau, Richard

WRI 1200

ahching@hpu.edu

Ching, April

WRI 1200

dfalgout@hpu.edu

Falgout, David

WRI 1100

syoo@hpu.edu

Han, Stephanie

AMST 2000

lkawai@hpu.edu

Kawai, Lisa

Not teaching this term

tmatsunaga@hpu.edu

Matsunaga, Tad

WRI 1100

cpolcovar@hpu.edu

Polcovar, Carol

WRI 1100

sthibadeaux@hpu.edu

Thibadeaux, Sean

WRI 1200

ltomchak@hpu.edu

Tomchak, Laurie

 Not teaching this term

cwallick@hpu.edu 

Wallick, Cheryl

WRI 1200