College of Natural and Computational Sciences

Natural Sciences FacultY

Full-Time Faculty

Stephen Allen, Ph.D., LEED AP (sallen@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Environmental Science

Gideon Berger, Ph.D. (gberger@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Chemistry

Andrew Brittain, Ph.D. (abrittain@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Biology
Faculty Teaching Fellow

Michael Canute, M.S. (mcanute@hpu.edu)
Instructor of Biology

Susan Carstenn, Ph.D. (scarstenn@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Environmental Science

Yongli Chen, Ph.D. (ychen@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Chemistry

Angela Costanzo, M.S. (acostanzo@hpu.edu)
Instructor of Biology and Environmental Science

Sara Edge, Ph.D. (sedge@hpu.edu)
Biology Lecturer

Christopher Evans, M.A. (cevans@hpu.edu)
Instructor of Marine Science

Jiasong Fang, Ph.D. (jfang@hpu.edu)
Professor of Chemistry

David B. Field, Ph.D. (dfield@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Marine Science
Program Chair, Marine Science (Marine Biology/Oceanography)

Andrew R. Greene, Ph.D. (agreene@hpu.edu)
Assistant Professor of Environmental Science
Program Chair, Environmental Sciences/Studies

Varis Grundmanis, Ph.D. (vgrundmanis@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Oceanography

F. David Horgen, Ph.D. (dhorgen@hpu.edu)
Professor of Chemistry
Program Chair, Chemistry/Biochemistry
Head, Shared Instrumentation Facility

K. David Hyrenbach, Ph.D. (khyrenbach@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Oceanography

Brenda Jensen, Ph.D. (bjensen@hpu.edu)
Professor of Biology
Dean, College of Natural and Computational Sciences

Carolyn Jones, Ph.D. (cjones@hpu.edu)
Assistant Professor of Biology
Associate Dean, College of Natural and Computational Sciences

Samuel Kahng, Ph.D. (skahng@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Oceanography

Keith Korsmeyer, Ph.D. (kkorsmeyer@hpu.edu)
Professor of Biology
Program Director, Masters of Science in Marine Science

James Lawrence, Ph.D. (jlawrence@hpu.edu)
Biology Lecturer

Georgianna L. Martin, Ph.D. (gmartin@hpu.edu)
Assistant Professor of Physics
Department Chair, Natural Sciences

Christine Morales, Ph.D. (cmorales@hpu.edu)
Chemistry Lecturer

Regina Ostergaard-Klem, Ph.D. (rostergaardklem@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Environmental Science

Rebecca Prescott, Ph.D. (rprescott@hpu.edu)
Biology Lecturer

Brian Quinn, Capt. (bquinn@hpu.edu)
Instructor of Marine Science
Master Captain, R.V. Kaholo

Catherine Unabia, Ph.D. (cunabia@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Biology
Program Chair, Biology

Eric Vetter, Ph.D. (evetter@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Oceanography

Lei Wang, Ph.D. (lwang@hpu.edu)
Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Kristi West, Ph.D. (kwest@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Biology and Marine Science

 

 

Affiliate Faculty

Robin W. Baird, Ph.D. ( rbaird@hpu.edu)
Research Biologist Cascadia Research Collective,
Olympia, WA

Colleen E. Bryan, Ph.D. ( cbryan@hpu.edu)
Research Biologist, National Institute of
Standards and Technology
Charleston, SC

Chatham Callan, Ph.D. ( ccallan@hpu.edu)
Finfish Research Scientist,
Oceanic Institute of Hawaii Pacific University
Waimanalo, HI

Zac H. Forsman, Ph.D. ( zforsman@hpu.edu)
Hawaii Institute of Marine Biology, Postdoctoral Fellow,
Kaneohe, HI

Miguel D. Fortes, Ph.D. ( fortesm@msi01.cs.upd.edu.ph)
Professor of Marine Science at the Marine Science Institute
University of the Philippines,
Quezon City, Philippines

Eric Gilman, Ph.D. ( EricLGilman@gmail.com)
SFP consultant,
Honolulu, HI

 

Jennifer M. Lynch, Ph.D. ( jennifer.lynch@nist.gov)
Research Biologist, National Institute of
Standards and Technology
Kaneohe, HI

Dustin Moss, Ph.D. ( dmoss@hpu.edu)
Director, Shrimp Research
Oceanic Institute of Hawaii Pacific University
Waimanalo, HI

Shaun Moss, Ph.D. ( smoss@hpu.edu)
Executive Director
Oceanic Institute at Hawai`i Pacific University
Waimanalo, HI

Brett P. Olds, Ph.D. ( bolds@hpu.edu)
Research Scientist
Oceanic Institue at Hawaii Pacific University
Waimanalo, HI

James Potemra, Ph.D. ( jpotemra@hpu.edu)
Hawaii Institute of Geophysics and Planetology
at the University of Hawaii
Manoa, HI

Trisha Kehaulani Watson, Ph.D. ( watson@honuaconsulting.com)
Environmental and cultural resource conservation,
Honua Consulting,
Honolulu, HI

 

 

Adjunct Faculty

Allison Bachlet, Ph.D.
abachlet@hpu.edu

Roy Ilaga, M.S.
rilaga@hpu.edu

Howie Shen, Ph.D.
hshen@hpu.edu

Domonkos Feher, Ph.D .
dfeher@hpu.edu

Celeste Lajala, M.D.
clajala@hpu.edu

Julia Smith, M.S.
  julia.smith@hpu.edu

Anne Gasc, Ph.D.
agasc@hpu.edu

Jack F. McMillan, Ph.D
jmcmillan@hpu.edu

Sasa Tom, Ph.D.
  stom@hpu.edu

Martin Guiles, Ph.D.
mguiles@hpu.edu

Yunfeng Pan, Ph.D.
ypan@hpu.edu

Kelly Williams, M.S.
  kelly.williams@hpu.edu